It’s Been a While…

Blog updates have happened in inverse proportion to world events, it seems.

That can only mean one thing: I have a job. Two, actually.

pentagon

Here I come…

I’ve been back at work for a little more than a month now, slowly getting back into the swing of things. It has been fun going back to my old team, where we support Another Armed Service that Shall Remain Nameless (rhymes with “smarmy”). Nonetheless, it’s always a challenge to get back up to speed at anything, and standard growing pains apply.

At the same time, I’ve continued chugging along with the Navy Reserve, though at a weird sort of inflection point. As soon as I returned to my old unit in Norfolk, I was applying for a new billet, so was never really put into a job since my time would be so short. I found things to do, to be sure, but nevertheless the last couple drill weekends have probably been the quietest I’ve ever had.

It makes me think of something a friend who entered the Reserve before me said, that “it isn’t ‘real.'” What he did in his billet, four or five years ago at this point, didn’t seem to him to have any impact or real value – it was just “make-work” in the military-industrial complex. I have been lucky to not have that problem, having been in a position to support exercises for real ships and real Sailors preparing to deploy. As these things go, that’s really pretty cool.

This coming weekend will be my last drill with that unit. My orders came today – I’m headed to OPNAV next year, where I can hope that the work will be at least as validating as that which I could do in Norfolk. There’s much less commute, at least – I can take a bus to the Pentagon from my house. Better than driving 180 miles.

Anyway, that’s what’s going on. I’ll let you know how it goes. Hopefully I don’t become an Angry Staff Officer. Although his blog is pretty good.

SW_icon_endnote

Leave a Reply

